MWA Logo


Scholarships are available for attending the 2019 Midwest Weavers Conference.
Three of the scholarships include conference registration fees, room, and board. The Jack Baker Memorial Scholarship, which honors the memory of a longā€time friend and board member of MWA, is given to a weaver with less than five years experience. The other two all-inclusive awards will be given to applicants who demonstrate financial need. Several scholarships that cover only the conference registration fee will also be awarded.

To apply, submit a letter that explains the role weaving plays in your life and why you would like to attend the Midwest Weavers' Conference. Please indicate for which of the scholarships you are applying, and be sure to include your name, address, phone number, and email address. Previous scholarship awardees are not eligible.

Application deadline is March 1, 2019. Your application for "Uncommon Threads" will be accepted from now until 3/1/2019.

Send your application letter by mail (or email) to:

Emily Say
MWA Scholarship Chair
820 State Street, Apt 1
Emporia, KS 66801

Congratulations to the 2017 Recipients!

MWA Scholarship Recipients

Textiles at the Crossroads

Arlene Emmert of Anderson, IN, received the Jack A. Baker Scholarship, which is for a weaver with less than five years experience and provides conference registration fees, room, and board.

Melinda Chiroy of Emporia, KS, and Claudia Ellwood of Cleves, OH received a Comprehensive MWA Scholarship which also covered all of the registration, room, and board costs.

Brenda Miller of Kirklin, IN, received the Betty C. Kennedy Scholarship for registration fees.

Sheri Gittinger, Franklin Habit, Holly Shaltz, Ellis Stephens and Kara Stephens all received MWA Registration Scholarships.

For any additions, deletions, or changes to this website, email
Copyright 2008 Midwest Weavers Association